Car accidents are all too common — in 2013 alone, there were 3,154 people killed by distracted drivers and about 424,000 people sustained injuries. Hopefully, you’ll never be involved in an accident. But it’s important to know what to do if you are in an accident. More specifically, it’s important to know what protocol to follow immediately following an auto accident in Illinois. After a serious accident, a report must be filed. Let’s take a closer look at the importance of filing a report after an accident and what happens if you don’t file one.
First off, when should you file a report? According to the DMV, an auto accident in Illinois must have a report filed if the accident:
- Caused a death
- Caused more than $1,500 worth of damage
- Caused a bodily injury
If you’re involved in an accident with any of these outcomes, you must file a report with the police. Additionally, a report must be filed with the Illinois Department of Transportation within 10 days of the accident. If you fail to report an accident that meets the accident reporting requirements, you could end up having to pay heavy fines or even face jail time, depending on the severity of the accident.
Along with filing a report with the police, you should also file a report with your insurance company. Unfortunately, being in a car accident can raise your insurance rates. But failing to report an accident can raise the rates even further. And if you end up involved in a personal injury lawsuit, your insurance company must be aware of the accident.
But while a report is required only under certain circumstances, it may be beneficial to file a report regardless of the outcome of the accident. One of the first things you may be wondering after being in an accident is do you need a car accident attorney. If you were in an accident caused by the negligence of another driver, your car accident rights may amount to receiving compensation for the accident. And when you find an attorney, having a police report of the accident can be strong evidence in the personal injury claims.
So when you’re thinking about filing a report after an accident, remember these important points. Do you need a auto accident attorney? Possibly — and having a police report can help you build a strong case for receiving proper compensation. Overall, filing a report is good practice to avoid backlash in the future.
Do you need a auto accident attorney? Steigmann Law has a team of experienced lawyers who are ready to help you build your case.